The Lost Words

This book was inspired by the decision to remove 50 'nature' words from the Oxford Junior Dictionary.

The Lost Words

The Lost Words

Once upon a time, words began to vanish from the language of children. They disappeared so quietly that at first almost no one noticed - until one day, they were gone. But there is an old kind of magic for finding what is missing, and for summoning what has gone. If the right spells are spoken, the lost words can be brought back . . . All over the country, there are words disappearing from children's lives. Words like Dandelion, Otter, Bramble, Acorn and Lark represent the natural world of childhood, a rich landscape of discovery and imagination that is fading from children's minds. The Lost Words stands against the disappearance of wild childhood. It is a joyful celebration of the poetry of nature words and the living glory of our distinctive, British countryside. With acrostic spell-poems by peerless wordsmith Robert Macfarlane and hand-painted illustrations by Jackie Morris, this enchanting book captures the irreplaceable magic of language and nature for all ages.

More Books:

The Lost Words
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: Robert Macfarlane, Jackie Morris
Categories: Animals in art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-02 - Publisher: Hamish Hamilton

Once upon a time, words began to vanish from the language of children. They disappeared so quietly that at first almost no one noticed - until one day, they were gone. But there is an old kind of magic for finding what is missing, and for summoning what has gone.
The Dictionary of Lost Words
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Pip Williams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

"The Dictionary of Lost Words is a work of fiction. All incidents and dialogue, and all characters with the exception of some well-known historical figures, are products of the author's imagination and are not to be construed as real. Before the lost word, there was another. It arrived at the
The Dictionary of Lost Words
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Pip Williams
Categories: Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-24 - Publisher:

In 1901, the word bondmaid was discovered missing from the Oxford English Dictionary. This is the story of the girl who stole it. Motherless and irrepressibly curious, Esme spends her childhood in the Scriptorium, a garden shed in Oxford where her father and a team of lexicographers are gathering words
The Lost for Words Bookshop
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Stephanie Butland
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-19 - Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

"The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop. "The Lost for Words Bookshop pushes all my bookish buttons."--Red (Books to Read) "Quirky, clever and unputdownable."--Katie Fforde "Burns fiercely with love and
The Lost Words
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Pete May
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-10-15 - Publisher: Biteback Publishing

Philip Howard's legendary 'Lost Words' column has been appearing weekly in The Times for many years, wittily illuminating a raft of the most obscure, esoteric words the English language has to offer. At the same time, his 'Word Watching' puzzles have provided readers with the chance to pit their lexicographical

Popular All Time

AMNH Birds of North America
A Hunter-Gatherer's Guide to the 21st Century
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law
Breath
Sapiens
The Science of Jurassic World
The Genetic Lottery
The Physics Book
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Braiding Sweetgrass
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
Saving Us
American Buffalo
Forest
The Order of Time
The Big, Bad Book of Botany
What Is Relativity?
The Elephant Whisperer