Fair Wind and Plenty of It

A Modern-Day Tall-Ship Adventure Rigel Crockett. Fair Wind and Plenty of It A M0derrz—Day Ell S/9.1;» Adventure RIGEL CROCKETT Fair Wind and Plenty |:|f I |]|]E|?H-UM' TML SHIP A[|\|'ENT|.|HE. Front Cover.

Fair Wind and Plenty of It

Fair Wind and Plenty of It

In the tradition of Godforsaken Sea and In the Heart of the Sea, Fair Wind and Plenty of It is a virtuoso debut by a sailor turned scribe -- a must-read for lovers of nautical adventure. On November 25th, 1997, the barque Picton Castle, a three-masted, square-rigged tall ship, headed out from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia on a voyage around the world. Aboard ship a shifting crew of thirty, a combination of professional sailors and paying crew who were out $32,500 for the privilege of working “crew before the mast,” would travel for over a year and half, calling in at ports as exotic and varied as Aruba, Somoa, Bali and Zanzibar. Fair Wind and Plenty of It tells the story of an obsession, as Captain Dan Moreland, driven by a desire to make his mark in the world of traditional sail, rallies forces to convert a sixty-nine-year-old North Sea trawler into a seaworthy tall ship, and then assembles the crew to sail it. It’s the story of the uneasy balance that is achieved on board, where insubordination and rancour must be kept in line among a crew whose only connection is their common desire to be part of this journey. And it is Rigel’s story: a man who was conceived the day his father laid the keel for his first boat, whose mother was a sailmaker, and who has to reconcile his family legacy with his own need to understand why he must take part in the voyage of the barque Picton Castle. In Fair Wind and Plenty of It, Rigel Crockett tells a tale of shipboard camaraderie, gut-wrenching struggles and the near-mutinies that marked the year-and-a half journey -- where fellow shipmates proved to be as perilous as the ever-present sea.

More Books:

The Paradox of Plenty
Language: en
Pages: 380
Authors: Terry Lynn Karl
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997-10-10 - Publisher: Univ of California Press

The Paradox of Plenty explains why, in the midst of two massive oil booms in the 1970s, oil-exporting governments as different as Venezuela, Iran, Nigeria, Algeria, and Indonesia chose common development paths and suffered similarly disappointing outcomes. Meticulously documented and theoretically innovative, this book illuminates the manifold factors—economic, political, and
Fair Wind and Plenty of It
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Rigel Crockett
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-07-23 - Publisher: Vintage Canada

In the tradition of Godforsaken Sea and In the Heart of the Sea, Fair Wind and Plenty of It is a virtuoso debut by a sailor turned scribe -- a must-read for lovers of nautical adventure. On November 25th, 1997, the barque Picton Castle, a three-masted, square-rigged tall ship, headed
Plenty of Blame to go Around
Language: en
Pages: 360
Authors: Eric Wittenberg, J. David Petruzzi
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-09-12 - Publisher: Savas Beatie

June 1863. The Gettysburg Campaign is in its opening hours. Harness jingles and hoofs pound as Confederate cavalryman James Ewell Brown (JEB) Stuart leads his three brigades of veteran troopers on a ride that triggers one of the Civil War’s most bitter and enduring controversies. Instead of finding glory and
Bones of Plenty
Language: en
Pages: 439
Authors: Eric Wittenberg, J. David Petruzzi
Categories: Depressions
Type: BOOK - Published: 1962 - Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press

Books about Bones of Plenty
Plenty
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: John Dale
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-01 - Publisher: Xoum Publishing

Seventeen-year-old Jed White lives with his mum and dad behind the Ampol service station in the small coastal town of Plenty. His girlfriend Chrissy works in the local fish cannery. When a foreign trawler crashes on the rocks one night, Jed and Chrissy figure from the rolls of stained bedding

Popular All Time

The Flavor Equation
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat
The Pioneer Woman Cooks—Super Easy!
Christmas at Grandma's
Baking with Dorie
Ruffage
That Sounds So Good
The Unofficial Disney Parks Drink Recipe Book
Borealis Breads
Lidia's a Pot, a Pan, and a Bowl
Joshua Weissman: An Unapologetic Cookbook. #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
The New England Cook Book
Old-Time New England Cookbook
Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook
The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook for Your Instant Pot
Supernatural: The Official Cookbook
Flavours of Greece
Simply Raymond