Burial Rites

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards.

Burial Rites

Burial Rites

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

More Books:

Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Hannah Kent
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-29 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.
Enriching Our Worship 3
Language: en
Pages: 94
Authors: Church Publishing
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-01 - Publisher: Church Publishing, Inc.

These newly authorized rites are intended to be a supplement to the burial services in the Book of Common Prayer, adding a rich variety of new material from many sources, including prayers for one who has died in military service, for one of unknown faith, for an unbeliever, and for
Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Church Publishing
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Church Publishing, Inc.

Books about Burial Rites
Death Customs
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Bendann,
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-11 - Publisher: Routledge

Published in the year 2007, Death Customs is a valuable contribution to the field of Asian Studies.
ATAR Notes Text Guide: Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Bendann,
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06 - Publisher:

Books about ATAR Notes Text Guide: Burial Rites

Popular All Time

I Alone Can Fix It
American Marxism
Leadership
Landslide
Frankly, We Did Win This Election
How I Saved the World
The Death of Truth
A Very Stable Genius
The Premonition: A Pandemic Story
Blackout
Speechless
The Authoritarian Moment
How to Be an Antiracist
The Long Slide
Irreversible Damage
Gaza in Crisis
How to Raise a Conservative Daughter
The Gray Lady Winked