Burial Rites

In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites

Burial Rites

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

More Books:

Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Hannah Kent
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-29 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.
Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Church Publishing
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Church Publishing, Inc.

Books about Burial Rites
Enriching Our Worship 3
Language: en
Pages: 94
Authors: Church Publishing
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-01 - Publisher: Church Publishing, Inc.

These newly authorized rites are intended to be a supplement to the burial services in the Book of Common Prayer, adding a rich variety of new material from many sources, including prayers for one who has died in military service, for one of unknown faith, for an unbeliever, and for
Death Customs
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Bendann,
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-11 - Publisher: Routledge

Published in the year 2007, Death Customs is a valuable contribution to the field of Asian Studies.
Burial Rites
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Hannah Kent
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09-10 - Publisher: Little Brown & Company

Based on a true story, tells the tale of a young woman in Iceland in 1829 who was accused of murder and sent to an isolated farm to await execution and tells the farmer's family her side of the story.

Popular All Time

The Old Farmer's Almanac 2022
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: 7th Edition
The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work: A Practical Guide from the Country’s Foremost Relationship Expert, Revised and Updated by John M. Gottman PhD (Discussion Prompts))
SEAL Survival Guide
CEN Review Book and Study Guide 2020–2021
2021 / 2022 ASVAB For Dummies
GED Study Guide 2021 All Subjects - GED Test Prep Secrets, Full-Length Practice Test, Step-by-Step Review Video Tutorials
The Conflict Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Obstacles, Adversaries, and Inner Struggles (Volume 1)
Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners
Dare to Lead Summary
The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It  Summary & Key Takeaways in 20 minutes
Dr. Disaster's Guide to Surviving Everything
Macbeth (No Fear Shakespeare)
Webster's American English Dictionary (with pronunciation guides)
Living a Jewish Life, Updated and Revised Edition
American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel by Jeanine Cummins (Discussion Prompts)
Real Estate License Exams For Dummies with Online Practice Tests